ROSS VALLEY FIRE DEPARTMENT STAFF REPORT

For the meeting of January 12, 2022

To: Board of Directors

From: Jason Weber, Fire Chief

Subject: Appoint President and Vice President to the Board for 2022

RECOMMENDATION:

For the Board to appoint a new President and Vice President to the Board for 2022.

BACKGROUND:

The Fire Board adopted a policy in Resolution 00-11, which established the offices of President and Vice President. New officers are elected in January of each year, serving a one-year term. The practice has been to alternate the presidency and vice presidency between the member agencies.

DISCUSSION:

In January of 2021, The Board elected Ford Greene as President and Beach Kuhl as Vice President. In line with established practice, a member from Ross should be elected President, and a member from Fairfax should be elected Vice President. Typically, the Vice President is elected President.

In 2023, a member from Fairfax should be elected President, and a member from Sleepy Hollow should be elected Vice President. See the table below for past President's and Vice President's appointments by member agency.

Year	President	Vice President
Jan 2022		
Jan 2021	Ford Greene (San Anselmo)	Beach Kuhl (Ross)
Jan 2020	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)	Ford Greene (San Anselmo)
Jan 2019	Peter Lacques (Fairfax)	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)
Jan 2018	Elizabeth Brekhus (Ross)	Peter Lacques (Fairfax)
Feb 2017	Tom McInerney (San Anselmo)	Elizabeth Brekhus (Ross)
Jan 2016	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)	Tom McInerney (San Anselmo)
Jan 2015	John Reed (Fairfax)	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)